Originally posted at 12:50pm on July 9th, 2018
Chicago Tribune
by Pioneer Press


The McGaw YMCA recently continued a year of heavy leadership transition by announcing five newly-elected board members scheduled to serve three-year terms that began July 1.

The new board members include Carole Brite, Haydee Martinez, the Rev. Dr. Michael C.R. Nabors, Marjorie Rallins and Vincent Sweeney, YMCA officials said.

“We are thrilled to welcome this tremendous group of community supporters to the McGaw family,” McGaw President and CEO Monique Parsons said. “I know each of them will be an excellent addition to our board, keeping us mission-focused and continuing our growth of impact across Evanston, now and into the future.”

Parsons, a former chief operating officer of McGaw YMCA, was named president and CEO of the nonprofit community service organization earlier in the year.

She succeeded former President and CEO Mark A. Dennis Jr., who retired late last year, according to YMCA officials.

Parsons had also served as vice president of programs and later as chief operating officer, she said.

“There’s nothing greater than working in a community,” Parsons said when she first was promoted. “The timing is perfect and I believe I have grown up in this organization. I’m committed to this mission.”